Who Are You?

I recently transitioned into a new job which has caused my last several weeks to be filled with training after training. This has not been discouraging or boring, but rather exciting as I soak in new skills to take with me when I meet and interact with my clients. I was in a ‘clinical skills’ training last week and the presenter and company clinician had us to an exercise that almost brought me to tears.

She had us pair up with another person, look that person in the eye, and ask “Who are you?” The person would respond with a 1 word response, and we would write it down. We would then ask the question again, until it had been asked 10 times in a row. Then we would switch so the other person would then in turn as us 10 times in a row.

This exercise may not sound like there is a lot to it, but there is something about hearing the lulling repetitive question “Who are you?” 10 times in a row and coming back with a 1 word response that encompasses who you are really caused me to go deeper each time until I had 10 words describing me in a way that was beautiful, and sad, and empowering, and humbling.

This is what I said:

Who are you? Sarcasm
Who are you? Nurturing
Who are you? Conflicting
Who are you? A Lover
Who are you? Hopeless
Who are you? Optimistic
Who are you? Caregiver
Who are you? Sensitive
Who are you? Emotional
Who are you? A Survivor

It was as if each time I found something good, I countered it with a flaw. I dug into a part of myself that was uncomfortable but profound. I highly encourage you to do this with someone you trust, or someone you don’t know. Let the sound of the question repeated fill you up, and feel each word. Don’t think to hard. Just let it come to you. It was an experience that really allowed me to see myself in ways I hadn’t before. Truly astounding. Do I know who I am? No. Because I believe that it doesn’t matter how old we get, we are constantly evolving and changing. Do I have a better grasp on who I am right now? Absolutely. I’m beautifully flawed.

~Fem

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who Are You?

  1. Anaida says:

    I am so glad to have found your blog. I like the design and appearance as well as your style of writing! ❤

    Like

  2. flacoali3 says:

    This is what I’ve been struggling with… So much of “being authentic” is asking yourself, “Who am I?” At the same time we are constantly evolving so as soon as you get an answer it’s not the truth. You really capture this…

    “Do I know who I am? No. Because I believe that it doesn’t matter how old we get, we are constantly evolving and changing.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

