The Great Carrier of Things

In Christianity, the butterfly is a sign of Resurrection. In Asian culture, the butterfly symbolizes a long life and love. In Native American culture, it is believed the butterfly can bring your wishes to the “great spirit.”

Poem

The flutter of wings,
a soft kiss upon the cheek.
I am the carrier
of
souls
to a new life
so you can live again.
I believe in life
after death.
Come and take me away.
Let me sit on your wings
and fly.

A gentile landing
so sweet. A promise
of love and a long
life.
I am the gentile
spirit.
The great carrier of
secrets.
I believe in
love.
If I whisper my wishes
to you, will you
bring them to the
granter?

Life
Love
Just
B
R
E
A
T
H
E

Writing 201: Make shapes with your poems. Go crazy with enjambment. And pay attention to the animal inside. Hello, Day 4!

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Great Carrier of Things

  1. beautiful! – both words and image

    Like

  2. Noirfifre says:

    My mind never imagined the butter as powerful but the title of the poem coupled with the words and shape brings that image across. You made a butterfly look formidable.

    Like

  3. Karuna says:

    Your shape poem is beautiful; both the image you created and the poem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

