I Speak for Those Who are Silent

I write for those women who do not speak, for those who do not have a voice because they were so terrified, because we are taught to respect fear more than ourselves. We’ve been taught that silence would save us, but it won’t. – Audre Lorde

Have you looked up what being a “feminist” is online?

Feminist: someone who believes the radical notion that women are people.”

This definition came from Urban Dictionary and is the most popular chosen definition by the millennial generation. WHY?

It continually astounds me what women go through and have gone through. How many times have I heard the ‘joke,’ and I use that term loosely, ‘go make me a sandwich!’ Ha. Ha. Women who allow these ‘jests’ to be considered funny and acceptable are contributing to the never ending battle of women equality. I do not find it funny. I do not care if it was meant to be a joke. It is just perpetuating the thought, perhaps subconsciously for all the people who say the phrase ‘go make me a sandwich,’ that women belong in the kitchen.

Maybe you think I’m reaching, but I don’t think so. UN Women created a powerful campaign using real Google auto-complete searches to identify the most commonly searched phrases or sentences in the world.

autocomplete-sexism3

women should…

This particular picture from their ad campaign uses the phrase “women should” and allows Google’s auto-complete feature to discover what the most common searches are accompanied with that phrase.
Here are the results:

  1. Women should… stay at home
  2. Women should… be slaves
  3. Women should… be in the kitchen
  4. Women should… not speak in Church

Is it a far stretch to think that ‘go make me a sandwich’ is having an impact on how women are being viewed? I don’t think so.

As a young woman, I do not wear makeup because I do not have to. However, I understand and believe makeup in moderation is a great tool for self-image. The pressure of beauty standards on women today is completely ridiculous. Colbie Caillat’ music video of Try is completely refreshing. “Do you like you? You don’t have to try so hard.” Yes. Yes! I do! And I wish more women liked themselves enough to feel like they didn’t have to try so hard. Society makes it hard.

I went to a college with a 17:1 male to female ratio and I put myself out there in leadership positions because I had to; yes, they tried to knock me down – but I did not let them. I write about women empowerment because feeling empowered and empowering others is an incredibly important aspect of my life.

Women equality is still a very real issue everywhere, including America. I will write about it; I will keep using my voice to try and make a difference until it has been achieved.

Someday, maybe I will have made a difference. Someday women will have the same pay as men for the same job and experience. Someday, there will not be rape. Someday the phrase women equality will be one of the past, just like sexual identity, and race. I may not be alive when that day comes, but I will have contributed. I speak for those who are silent.

*The writing above originally appeared on a daily prompt post following a poem I composed. I have decided to remove the writing from that post and place it here with some additions.

This entry was posted in Feminism and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I Speak for Those Who are Silent

  1. Andy Townend says:

    Writing like this, you will make a difference.

    Like

  2. Simply_Peter says:

    I would consider myself a masculist. I think we largely fight for the same things; we just happen to have experiences from opposite sides of the coin. When I have time, I hope to read more, and also write more on the topics closest to me. I have only recently started blogging, and I desperately need to continue doing so. I am glad to find people that I will be able to go to their blog, and be intrigued and given food for thought. Glad to have your acquaintance. – Peter

    Liked by 1 person

    • femvestige says:

      Thanks Peter! I look forward to reading yours as well! Often times people confuse feminism with the idea the women hate men. Feminism is wanting men and women to both be equal. I think you’ll find we both want the same thing!

      I also am what I would consider a new blogger. Just keep at it as often as you can. I have had so much fun discovering how I want to present myself, my thoughts, and my feelings. My tabs at the top and my about has changed several times, and as I grow and change I’m sure they will change again!

      Like

      • Simply_Peter says:

        I do the same thing x) ha ha. I haven’t messed too much with image just yet, mostly because I do most of my writing from my phone. However, when I get the chance to sit down at my computer (a considered necessity for longer posts) I will most likely do so. I am doing my best to become impartial of mind and am seeking to find examples in this world that combat how my personal experiences have inevitably crafted a biased opinion of the opposite gender. I think you may find I am not off the usual grain of 23 year old men (pointedly single fathers). In any case, I’m done with the heavy today. I am focusing on the lightness and weariness-free aspects of this day, at least until I get to tomorrow! Take care, Frauline! (No. I’m not from Germany. But I am of descent and appreciate the language, ideas, and culture. Had to clarify.)

        Liked by 1 person

  3. 93bnmill says:

    This is motivating. Women do have it hard; many people in the world will try and tell us that we have a certain place “meant for us,” that we “have to have men” in our lives. I work as an In-Home Care Aide, a job that tends to have a lot of women in it…but that doesn’t mean men can’t do it, too. The same for women being doctors, which is largely seen as a male-dominated profession. So I thank you for this post, as it is something everyone needs to hear: we don’t have to try so hard to be happy, we can be happy being who we are. Men and women alike.

    Like

  4. This was incredible inspiring please keep writing I love seeing posts like this. I hope that one day I’ll write something like that, you truly motivated me to keep fighting and writing. Women can do anything and that is a point that needs to pushed across my men and women all over this country especially during this time. Thank you for putting that voice out there keep doing what you are doing.

    Like

  5. snehajk says:

    Very inspiring.. I wish to fight for the same cause and make a difference as well.

    Like

  6. Powerful post, this is what’s needed for a change! Love it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

